Toronto Bedside Swallowing Screening Test (TOR-BSST©)

Purpose of the measure

The Toronto Bedside Swallowing Screening Test (TOR-BSST©) is a screening tool administered at the bedside by trained screeners which identifies patients at risk for dysphagia following stroke.

Available versions

There is one version of the TOR-BSST©. See https://swallowinglab.com/tor-bsst/.

Features of the measure

Items:
The TOR-BSST© is comprised of 5 items:

  1. Baseline vocal quality
  2. Tongue movement
  3. 50mL water test
  4. Cup sip
  5. Final judgment of vocal quality

Scoring:
The TOR-BSST© uses binary scoring (i.e. abnormal/normal) for each item. Failure on any item discontinues the screen and prompts referral to a Speech-Language Pathologist dysphagia expert.

What to consider before beginning:
The TOR-BSST© should only be used with patients who are alert, able to sit upright at 90 degrees, and are able to follow simple instructions. Patients who do not meet these guidelines should not be screened but, instead, be referred to a Speech-Language Pathologist for assessment.

International best practice guidelines advise that, following stroke, patients should undergo screening for swallowing difficulties before oral intake of food, fluids or oral medication. Screening should be performed by specially trained personnel, using a validated screening tool. Swallowing should be screened as soon as possible after admission provided that the patient is able to participate. Patients who fail the swallowing screening should be referred to a Speech-Language Pathologist for comprehensive swallowing assessment. For patients who are confirmed at high risk of aspiration and/or dysphagia should undergo an instrumental assessment such as videofluoroscopy swallowing study (VFS) and/or fibreoptic evaluation of swallowing (FEES).

Time:
The TOR-BSST© takes less than 10 minutes to administer and score. Administration ceases immediately on failure of an item.

Training requirements:
The TOR-BSST© can be administered by health professionals who have undergone the requisite 4-hour didactic standardized training program. Didactic training is followed by individual training/competency observations. Training is provided by Speech-Language Pathologists who have completed the “TOR-BSST© Training for the SLP Dysphagia Expert” trainers course.

See The Swallowing Lab (https://swallowinglab.com/tor-bsst/) for details.

Equipment:
The TOR-BSST© is a one-page double-sided form that includes standardized instructions for administration.

Client suitability

Can be used with:

The TOR-BSST© is suitable for use with individuals with stroke across the recovery continuum (Martino et al., 2009).

The TOR-BSST© is being validated for use with critically ill patients who have undergone prolonged intubation and may be at risk of swallowing problems.

Should not be used in:

Following stroke, patients should be assessed and managed according to best practice guidelines for dysphagia. The TOR-BSST© should not be used with individuals with decreased alertness or cognition, or those who are being tube-fed. Patients who are being tube-fed have already been identified to have dysphagia and therefore should be referred to a Speech-Language Pathologist for a comprehensive assessment and management.
 
In what languages is the screening tool available?
  • English
  • French
  • Chinese
  • German
  • Italian
  • Portuguese (Brazil)

Toronto Bedside Swallowing Screening Test (TOR-BSST©)

But de l’outil de mesure

Le Toronto Bedside Swallowing Screening Test (TOR-BSST©) est un outil de dépistage qui identifie les patients à risque de dysphagie suite à un AVC.

Versions disponibles

Il existe une version du TOR-BSST©. Voir : https://swallowinglab.com/tor-bsst/.

Caractéristiques de l’outil de mesure

Items :
Le TOR-BSST© est composé de 5 items :

  1. Qualité vocale de base
  2. Mouvement de la langue
  3. Essai avec 50 ml d’eau
  4. Tasse à petite gorgée
  5. Jugement final de la qualité vocale

Cotation :
Le TOR-BSST© utilise une notation binaire (c.-à-d. anormale/normale) pour chaque item. L’échec sur l’un des items interrompt le dépistage pour une référence immédiate à un orthophoniste spécialiste de la dysphagie.

Ce qu’il faut considérer avant de commencer :
Le TOR-BSST© ne doit être utilisé qu’avec des patients alertes, capables de s’asseoir droit à 90 degrés, et capables de suivre des instructions simples. Les patients qui ne peuvent rencontrer ces lignes directrices ne devraient pas faire l’objet d’un dépistage, mais plutôt être dirigés vers un orthophoniste pour une évaluation.

Les lignes directrices internationales sur les meilleures pratiques recommandent qu’après un AVC, les patients doivent subir un dépistage des difficultés de déglutition avant de consommer des aliments, des liquides ou des médicaments par voie orale. Le dépistage doit être effectué par un personnel spécialement formé, à l’aide d’un outil de dépistage validé. La déglutition devrait faire l’objet d’un dépistage dès que possible après l’admission, lorsque le patient est en mesure d’y participer. Les patients qui échouent au dépistage de la déglutition devraient être dirigés vers un orthophoniste pour une évaluation complète de la déglutition. Pour les patients dont le risque d’aspiration et/ou de dysphagie est confirmé comme étant élevé, une évaluation instrumentale (telle qu’un examen par vidéofluoroscopie de la déglutition et/ou une évaluation par fibre optique de la déglutition) devrait être effectuée.

Durée :
Le TOR-BSST© prend moins de 10 minutes pour être administré et coté. L’administration cesse immédiatement en cas d’échec de l’évaluation de l’un des items.

Formation :
Le TOR-BSST© peut être administré par des professionnels de la santé qui ont suivi le programme requis de formation didactique normalisé de 4 heures. La formation didactique est suivie d’observations individuelles de la formation et des compétences. La formation est dispensée par des orthophonistes qui ont suivi la formation de formateurs « TOR-BSST© Training for the SLP Dysphagia Expert« .

Voir The Swallowing Lab (https://swallowinglab.com/tor-bsst/) pour plus de détails.

Équipement :
Le TOR-BSST© est un formulaire d’une page recto verso qui comprend des instructions normalisées pour l’administration.

Pertinence de l’évaluation selon la clientèle

Peut être utilisé avec :
Le TOR-BSST© convient aux personnes ayant subi un AVC dans tout le continuum des phases de récupération post-AVC (Martino et al., 2009).

Le TOR-BSST© est en cours de validation pour l’utilisation auprès de patients gravement malades qui ont subi une intubation prolongée et qui peuvent être à risque de problèmes de déglutition.

Ne devrait pas être utilisé avec:
Suite à un AVC, les patients doivent être évalués et pris en charge conformément aux lignes directrices des meilleures pratiques en matière de dysphagie. Le TOR-BSST© ne doit pas être utilisé chez les personnes dont la vigilance ou les facultés cognitives sont diminuées ou chez celles qui sont nourries par sonde. Les patients qui sont nourris par sonde ont déjà été identifiés comme présentant de la dysphagie et devraient donc être référés à un orthophoniste pour une évaluation et une prise en charge complètes.

Langues de la mesure
  • Anglais
    Français
    Chinois
    Allemand
    Italien
    Portugais (Brésil)