Aphasia

Aphasia is a language impairment that typically results from damage to the left hemisphere of the brain and consequently, is a common impairment after stroke. The resulting language dysfunctions are roughly classified as expressive (Broca’s aphasia) or receptive (Wernicke’s aphasia).

An individual with Broca’s aphasia has a partial or total inability to speak or produce spontaneous speech. They often have no difficulty understanding others, however, thoughts and intentions are difficult to express and may be non-fluent in nature. This form of aphasia can also affect written communication.

An individual with Wernicke’s aphasia has a partial or total inability to understand spoken and sometimes written language. Expression of language may be fluent in nature, but is not comprehensible.

The symptoms of global aphasia are those of severe Broca’s aphasia and Wernicke’s aphasia combined. There is an almost total reduction of all aspects of spoken and written language, in expression as well as comprehension.

This module contains 34 studies, where 21 of them are high quality randomized clinical trials (RCTs), 11 are fair quality RCTs, and 2 are non-RCTs. The majority of interventions (18 studies) were studied among patients with chronic stroke (i.e. 6 months or more post-stroke).

Overall, we identified different interventions for post-stroke aphasia and those include: constraint-induced aphasia therapy; speech language therapy, task-oriented aphasia therapy; semantic/phonological training, action-embedded therapy, intentional gestures and visual gestural cueing, supported communication, technology-assisted training (computer and devices), behavioral aphasia therapy, cognitive linguistic therapy, and narrative aphasia intervention.

Authors*: Tatiana Ogourtsova, PhD OT, Laura Chartrand, Amy Henderson PhD student, Sandra Bélisle-L’Anglais, Julie-France Hénault, Lyna Kaing, Caroline Lévesque, Sia Ching Tran, Véronique Vaillant, Adam Kagan BSc, Annabel McDermott BOccThy

Expert reviewer (in progress): Rosemary Martino

Evidence reviewed as of before 27-11-2018

NOTE: *The authors have no direct financial interest in any tools, tests or interventions presented in StrokEngine.

Aphasie

L’aphasie est un trouble du langage qui résulte généralement d’une lésion de l’hémisphère gauche du cerveau et, par conséquent, un trouble courant après un AVC. Les dysfonctionnements du langage qui en résultent sont généralement classés en deux catégories : expressive (par exemple, l’aphasie de Broca) ou réceptive (par exemple, l’aphasie de Wernicke).

Une personne atteinte d’aphasie de Broca présente une incapacité partielle ou totale de parler ou de produire un discours spontané. Elle n’a souvent aucune difficulté à comprendre les autres, mais ses pensées et ses intentions sont difficiles à exprimer et peuvent être de nature non fluide. Cette forme d’aphasie peut également affecter la communication écrite.

Une personne atteinte d’aphasie de Wernicke a une incapacité partielle ou totale de comprendre le langage parlé et parfois écrit. L’expression du langage peut être fluide par nature, mais peut être difficile à comprendre pour l’auditeur.

Les symptômes de l’aphasie globale sont ceux de l’aphasie sévère de Broca et de l’aphasie de Wernicke combinés. Une réduction presque totale de tous les aspects du langage parlé et écrit est ici constaté, tant au niveau de l’expression que de la compréhension.

Ce module contient 34 études, dont 21 sont des essais cliniques randomisés (ECR) de haute qualité, 11 sont des ECR de qualité acceptable et 2 ne sont pas des ECR. La majorité des interventions (18 études) ont été menées auprès de patients en phase chronique de récupération post-AVC (c’est-à-dire 6 mois ou plus après l’AVC).

Dans l’ensemble, différentes interventions portant sur l’aphasie post-AVC ont été identifiées, celles-ci comprennent : la thérapie de l’aphasie par contrainte induite ; l’orthophonie non-spécifique, la thérapie de l’aphasie orientée sur la tâche ; l’entrainement sémantique/phonologique, la thérapie par l’action, les gestes intentionnels et les indices gestuels visuels, la communication assistée, l’entrainement assisté par la technologie (ordinateur et dispositifs), la thérapie comportementale de l’aphasie, la thérapie cognitivo-linguistique et l’intervention narrative de l’aphasie.

Auteurs* : Tatiana Ogourtsova, PhD OT, Laura Chartrand, Amy Henderson doctorante, Sandra Bélisle-L’Anglais, Julie-France Hénault, Lyna Kaing, Caroline Lévesque, Sia Ching Tran, Véronique Vaillant, Adam Kagan BSc, Annabel McDermott OT
Expert réviseur : Elizabeth Rochon
Version française en traduction libre et cohérence du contenu : Gabriel Plumier

Évidences révisées en date du 27-11-2018

NOTE : * Les auteurs n’ont aucun intérêt financier direct dans les outils, tests ou interventions présentés dans Info-AVC.