Constraint-Induced Movement Therapy – upper extremity

Constraint-Induced Movement Therapy (CIMT) consists of a set of rehabilitation techniques designed to reduce functional problems in the most affected upper extremity of clients with stroke. This therapy involves constraining movements of the less-affected arm, usually with a sling or mitt for 90% of waking hours, while intensively inducing the use of the more-affected arm. Concentrated, repetitive training of the more-affected limb is usually performed for six hours a day for a two to three week period. Compliance of the patient for the rigorous restraint and training schedule, as well as the required intensity of therapy provided by therapists in a clinical setting, are important issues to consider.

Modified CIMT (mCIMT) is a less intense treatment that involves the same principles as CIMT (i.e. restraint of the less-affected upper extremity and practice of functional activities of the more-affected extremity), but with less intensity than traditional CIMT (i.e. less time). The common therapeutic factor in all CIMT techniques includes concentrated, repetitive tasks with the more-affected arm.

Functional benefits appear to be largely confined to those individuals with some active wrist and hand movement. Studies have explored the efficacy of this intervention for improving functional outcomes post-stroke.

A number of neuro-imaging and transcranial magnetic stimulation studies have shown that CIMT can produce a massive use-dependent cortical reorganization that increases the area of cortex involved in the innervation of movement of the more-affected limb (Taub et al., 1999). In terms of studies examining the effectiveness of this treatment intervention, high quality randomized controlled trials (RCTs) have reported a positive impact for patients with stroke. However, functional benefits appear to be largely confined to those individuals with some active wrist and hand movement.

Authors*: Annabel McDermott, OT; 
Editor: Annie Rochette OT, PhD
Expert reviewer: Johanne Higgins OT PhD

Evidence reviewed as of before 22-09-2016

NOTE: *The authors have no direct financial interest in any tools, tests or interventions presented in StrokEngine.

Thérapie par Contrainte Induite du Mouvement – membre supérieur

La thérapie par contrainte induite du mouvement (TCIM) est constituée d’un ensemble de techniques de réadaptation conçues pour réduire des problèmes fonctionnels du membre supérieur affecté chez les patients ayant subi un AVC. Les traitements de TCIM impliquent de contraindre les mouvements du bras le moins affecté, habituellement à l’aide d’une écharpe ou d’une mitaine pendant 90 % du temps d’éveil, tout en induisant l’utilisation intensive du bras le plus affecté. Des tâches précises et réitérées avec le bras le plus affecté sont généralement effectuées pendant six heures par jour pour une période de deux à trois semaines. L’adhésion du patient pour respecter un horaire exigeant et rigoureux ainsi que l’intensité requise de la thérapie fournie par des thérapeutes dans un contexte clinique sont des questions importantes à considérer.

La thérapie par contrainte induite du mouvement modifiée (TCIMm) est une intervention incorporant les même principes que la TCIM (c.-à-d. une restriction du membre supérieur le moins affecté avec un entraînement dans des activités fonctionnelles du membre supérieur le plus affecté) mais à moindre intensité, ce qui requiert moins de temps. Les éléments thérapeutiques communs aux différentes techniques de TCIM incluent des tâches précises, concentrées et répétées avec le bras le plus affecté.

Des avantages fonctionnels semblent être largement confinés aux personnes avec certains mouvements actifs du poignet et de la main. Des études ont exploré l’efficacité de cette intervention pour améliorer les résultats fonctionnels post-AVC.

Un certain nombre d’études impliquant de la neuro-imagerie et de la stimulation magnétique transcrânienne ont démontré que la TCIM peut produire une réorganisation corticale massive augmentant l’innervation de l’aire du cortex impliquée dans les mouvements du membre supérieur affecté (Taub et al., 1999). En termes d’études portant sur l’efficacité de cette intervention, des ECR de hautes qualités ont signalé un impact positif pour les patients ayant subi un AVC. Toutefois, les avantages fonctionnels semblent être largement confinés aux personnes avec certains mouvements actifs du poignet et de la main.

Auteur* : Annabel McDermott, OT
Éditeur : Annie Rochette OT, PhD
Expert réviseur :Johanne Higgins OT, PhD

Évidences révisées en date du 22-09-2016

NOTE : * Les auteurs n’ont aucun intérêt financier direct dans les outils, tests ou interventions présentés dans Info-AVC.