Depression

 

A variety of emotional and behavioural disorders may develop following stroke. Depression, the most common emotional disorder, may affect up to 40% of all patients with stroke. Depression affects every aspect of a person’s life, such as their body, emotions, thoughts and mood. It is much more complex than simply “feeling blue” and is characterized by a persistent and pervasive feeling of sadness or hopelessness. Depression can also be associated with a combination of the following symptoms: poor appetite and weight loss (or conversely weight gain), sleep disturbances (insomnia or hypersomnia), constipation, psychomotor retardation (or conversely agitation), difficulties with concentration and thinking, withdrawal from interpersonal contact, feelings of guilt or self-blame, diminished interest or pleasure in most or all activities, and recurrent thoughts of death or suicidal ideation. Depression can occur early after stroke or in the years following. Detection of post-stroke depression is often overlooked so it is important to use reliable measures when evaluating the patient after stroke.

Various interventions exist for post-stroke depression and are reviewed in this module. These include psychosocial support programs (individual, group or community), cognitive-behavioral therapy, multimodal interventions (exercise + psychoeducation), neuro-linguistic programming therapy, speech therapy, patient-centered counselling, art therapy and wellness therapies (e.g. relaxation therapy, forest therapy, Yoga, Tai Chi, meditation, enriched environments therapy).

Note: Extensive research has investigated the benefits of various drugs such as heterocyclic antidepressants, psychostimulants, and selective serotonin reuptake inhibitors (SSRIs) to treat post-stroke depressionDrug studies are not covered in this module.

Authors*: Tatiana Ogourtsova PhD OT, Annabel McDermott OT, Chelsea Hellings BA, Katherine Salter BA, Sanjit Bhogal MSc, Robert Teasell MD, Norine Foley BASc, Mark Speechley PhD, Elissa Sitcoff BSC, BA, Anita Menon, MSc

Evidence reviewed as of before 04-01-2018

NOTE: *The authors have no direct financial interest in any tools, tests or interventions presented in StrokEngine.

Dépression

 

Une variété de troubles émotionnels et comportementaux peut se développer suite à un AVC. La dépression, le trouble émotionnel le plus courant, peut toucher jusqu’à 40% des patients ayant subi un AVC. La dépression affecte tous les aspects de la vie d’une personne, tels que son corps, ses émotions, ses pensées et son humeur. Beaucoup plus complexe que simplement « avoir le blues », la dépression se caractérise par un sentiment persistant et envahissant de tristesse ou de désespoir. La dépression peut également être associée à une combinaison des symptômes suivants : manque d’appétit et perte de poids (ou gain de poids), troubles du sommeil (insomnie ou hypersomnie), constipation, retard psychomoteur (ou agitation), difficultés de concentration et de réflexion, retrait des contacts interpersonnels, sentiment de culpabilité ou auto-reproche, manque d’intérêt ou plaisir diminué dans la plupart ou toutes les activités, et pensées récurrentes au sujet de la mort ou idées suicidaires. La dépression peut survenir tôt après un AVC ou dans les années qui suivent. La détection de la dépression post-AVC est souvent négligée, il est donc important d’utiliser des mesures fiables lors de l’évaluation du patient suite à un AVC.

Diverses interventions existent pour contrer la dépression post-AVC et sont examinées dans ce module Info-AVC. Il s’agit notamment de programmes de soutien psychosocial (individuel, en groupe ou communautaire), de thérapie cognitivo-comportementale, d’interventions multimodales (exercice + psychoéducation), d’interventions neurolinguistiques, en orthophonie, de services de conseil centrés sur le patient, de thérapies par l’art ou visant le bien-être (ex. thérapie de forêt, yoga, Tai Chi, méditation, thérapie d’environnements enrichis).

Note : Des recherches approfondies ont examiné les avantages de divers médicaments tels que les antidépresseurs hétérocycliques, les psychostimulants et les inhibiteurs sélectifs de la recapture de la sérotonine (ISRS) pour traiter la dépression post-AVC. Les études de médicament ne sont pas couvertes dans ce module.

Auteurs*: Tatiana Ogourtsova PhD OT, Annabel McDermott OT, Chelsea Hellings BA, Katherine Salter BA, Sanjit Bhogal MSc, Robert Teasell MD, Norine Foley BASc, Mark Speechley PhD, Elissa Sitcoff BSC, BA, Anita Menon, MSc

 
Évidences révisées en date du 04-01-2018
 
 
NOTE : * Les auteurs n’ont aucun intérêt financier direct dans les outils, tests ou interventions présentés dans Info-AVC.